ANNUAL COUNCIL

Tuesday 16 May 2017

Present:-

Councillors Ashwood, Baldwin, Bialyk, Brimble, Denham, Edwards, Foale, Foggin, Gottschalk, Hannaford, Hannan, Harvey, Holland, Keen, Lamb, Leadbetter, Lyons, Mitchell, Morris, Morse, Musgrave, Newby, Owen, Packham, Pearson, Prowse, Robson, Sheldon, Sills, Spackman, Sutton, Thompson, Vizard, Wardle, Warwick and Wood

Apologies

Councillors Branston, D Henson and Mrs Henson

1 <u>ELECTION OF THE LORD MAYOR</u>

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Morse, seconded by Councillor Leadbetter, that Councillor Lesley Robson be elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Lord Mayor was invested with her Robe and Chain of Office, made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and returned thanks.

2 <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR</u>

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Vizard, seconded by Councillor Newby, that Councillor Kate Hannan be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Deputy Lord Mayor was invested with her Robe and Chain of Office, made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office and returned thanks.

3 <u>VOTE OF THANKS</u>

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Cynthia Thompson and Mr David Thompson have discharged the duties of the Lord Mayor and Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

Councillor Newby, on behalf of the Council, presented badges to the retiring Lord Mayor and retiring Lord Mayor's Consort.

The retiring Lord Mayor returned thanks.

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Peter Holland and Mrs Jackie Holland have discharged the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

The retiring Deputy Lord Mayor returned thanks.

4 <u>ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CONFIRMATION OF THE</u> <u>DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL</u>

Councillor Edwards was confirmed as Leader of the Council. Councillor Edwards confirmed the appointment of Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

RESOLVED that Councillor Edwards be elected as Leader of the Council and Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

The Leader of the Council confirmed his nominations for Portfolio Holders and Executive membership as circulated.

RESOLVED that the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Councillor Portfolio or Group

Edwards P.W. Leader

5

Pearson O. Support Services

Morse E.A. People

Packham H.L. Housing Revenue Account

Brimble S.A. Place

Denham R.C. City Transformation, Energy and

Transport

Sutton R.H. Economy and Culture Gottschalk D.R. City Development

Bialyk P.M. Health and Wellbeing, Communities

and Sport

Leadbetter, A.R. Conservative

6 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that the membership of Committees etc, Chairs and Deputy Chairs and Independent Persons, as shown at the Appendix to these minutes, be approved subject to:-

- (1) Leisure Complex and Bus Station Programme Board Minutes replacement of Councillor Gottschalk with Councillor Pearson:
- (2) Strata Joint Scrutiny Committee replacement of Councillor Thompson with Councillor Leadbetter; and
- (3) A Member Champion for Section 106 Agreements Councillor Harvey.

(The meeting commenced at 7.03 pm and closed at 8.01 pm)

Chair

Minute Item 6

EXETER CITY COUNCIL

EXECUTIVE, SCRUTINY AND OTHER COMMITTEES

EXECUTIVE (10)

Edwards, P.W. (Leader)

Bialyk, P.M.

Brimble, S.A.

Denham, R.C.

Gottschalk, D.R.

Leadbetter A.R.

Morse, E.A.

Packham, H.L.

Pearson, O.

Sutton, R.H.

PORTFOLIO HOLDERS (9)

Edwards, P.W. Leader

Pearson, O. Support Services

Packham, H.L. Housing Revenue Account

Brimble, S.A. Place Morse, E.A. People

Sutton, R.H. Economy and Culture

Denham R.C. City Transformation, Energy and Transport

Gottschalk, D.R. City Development

Bialyk, P.M. Health and Wellbeing, Communities and

Sport

MEMBER CHAMPIONS

Sills, L.S. Young People Sheldon, G.N. Arts and Culture

Wood, D. Communities and Food Recycling

SCRUTINY - CORPORATE SERVICES (10)

Sheldon, G.N. (Chair)
Warwick, S. (Deputy Chair)
Baldwin, M.A.
Hannan, K.A
Harvey, D.J.
Holland, P.G.
Lamb, R.C.
Owen, K.
Morris, H.
Musgrave, C

SCRUTINY - PEOPLE (10)

Wardle, A.J. (Chair)

Foale, B. (Deputy Chair)

Branston, R.A.

Foggin, O.A.

Holland, P.G.

Morris, H.

Thompson, C.

Vizard, N.J.

Hannan, K.A. Hannaford, R.M.

SCRUTINY - PLACE (10)

Sills, L.S. (Chair) Mitchell, K.J. Lyons, R.C. (Deputy Chair) Prowse, G.J. Foggin, O.A. Wardle, A.J. Wood. D. Henson, D.J. Keen, L.P.G.

Owen, K.

PLANNING COMMITTEE (13)

Gottschalk, D.R. (Chair) Harvey, D.J.

Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Lyons, R.C. (Deputy Chair)

Bialyk, P.M. Morse, E.A. Denham, R.C. Newby, R.C. Edwards, P.W. Prowse, G.J. Foale, B. Sutton, R.H.

Spackman, R.D.

PLANNING MEMBER WORKING GROUP (7)

Chair of Planning Committee

Lyons, R.C.(Chair) Morse, E.A. Bialyk, P.M. Prowse, G.J.

Edwards, P.W. Newby, R.C.

MAJOR GRANTS PANEL (4)

Edwards, P.W. (Chair) Leadbetter, A.R. Bialyk, P.M. Sutton, R.H.

LEISURE COMPLEX AND BUS STATION PROGRAMME BOARD (7)

Currently 5 Labour and 2 Conservatives - politically balanced in accordance with the necessary proportionality requirements

Bialyk, P.M. (Chair) Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Prowse, G.J. Denham, R.C. Edwards, P.W. Wardle, A.J.

Gottschalk, D.R.

EXETER BOARD (14)

(5 City Councillors)

Bialyk, P.M. Sills, L.S. Denham, R.C. Thompson, C.

Edwards, P.W.

(9 County Councillors)

Ackland, H. Hannaford, R.M. Asvachin, M. Leadbetter, A.R. Atkinson, Y. Prowse, G.R. Aves, S. Whitton, M.C.

Brennan, E.

EXETER BOARD FUNDING SUB GROUP (7)

(3 City Councillors)

Bialyk, P.M. Edwards, P.W

Denham, R.C.

(4 County Councillors)

Hannaford, R.M. Leadbetter, A.R.

LICENSING COMMITTEE (14)

Spackman, R.D. (Chair)

Sheldon, G.N. (Deputy Chair)

Branston, R.A.

Brimble, S.A.

Foale, B.

Hannan, K.A.

Henson, D.J.

Holland, P.G.

Mitchell, K.J.

Keen, L.P.G.

Newby, R.C.

Owen, K.

Pearson, P.G.

Sills, L.S.

LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE (3)

Licensing Sub-Committee membership to be drawn from Licensing Committee Members above.

AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (11)

Vizard, N.J. (Chair) Henson, Mrs Y.A.C.

Wood, D. (Deputy Chair)

Baldwin, M.A.

Gottschalk, D.R.

Harvey, D.J.

Lamb, R.

Musgrave, C

Packham, H.L.

Sheldon, G.N.

Warwick, S.

INDEPENDENT PERSONS

Mr M. Fowkes and Mr W. Page appointed as Independent Persons to assist the Council in promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct amongst its Elected Members.

STRATA JOINT EXECUTIVE COMMITEE (3 - 1 FROM ECC)

Edwards, P.W. (Leader)

STRATA JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITEE (9 - 3 FROM ECC)

Lyons, R.C. Foale, B. Thompson, C.

EXETER HIGHWAYS AND TRAFFIC ORDERS COMMITTEE (13)

(4 City Councillors)

Denham, R.C. Newby, R.C. Harvey, D.J. Wardle, A.J.

(9 County Councillors)

Ackland, H. Hannaford, R.M. Asvachin, M. Leadbetter, A.R. Atkinson, Y. Prowse, G.R. Aves, S. Whitton, M.C.

Brennan, E.